lilianic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

respect me, dammit!

I often say that I hate my job, but what I really mean is that I hate the way that the people with whom I interact during the course of my job are complete fucking idiots. Yes, that's better. And more precise. When I am dealing with people with a few spare brain cells to rub together, I don't have a problem helping them. Actually, I enjoy helping them. I like to know that when I do my job right, somebody else�s life will proceed as planned. I like it when my plans go off without a hitch, and I would guess that other people feel this way, too.

So, in the course of my job, I am quite willing to answer questions, as long as they are not of the stupid variety. I don�t drive the cars that these people are reserving. For that matter, I don�t drive any car at all. I don�t know the drivers personally. I�ve never knowingly seen them, and haven�t actually made any plans to do so. So why would you think that when I tell you I�ll check on something, I�m calling Mike or Habib or Danny up on his two way? When I say, �I�ll call the dispatcher,� what about that sentence leaves any room for ambiguity regarding who it is that I am actually calling? Honestly.

There are several reasons that I have this reaction to being treated badly, and they�re not all good, either. Of course, nobody wants to be disrespected by others. And sure, we�d all like to be appreciated for the various ways in which we make others� lives easier. But really, I know that I am every bit as good as the people who call me. Not because of some vague �we�re all people and deserve equal treatment� notion that everyone spouts and few believe, but because I could have their job. I have my job because I don�t want their job, but if I did want it, I could have it. I went to college, just like them, I did every bit as well as they did, and if I didn�t want just to save some money and skip the country, I could have their job. I could be their colleague. And then I�d be the one calling in for a car to take me home after an 11-hour workday.

Hopefully, I�d be nicer to the person on the other end of the line.

12:07 - 2003-08-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

piecesofher
petris-girl
penmaster
melwadel
leslieirene
epiphany
amberfalls
burkenstocks
paradigms
kilgoretrout
prowlingleo
elaineslife
tornlace
peeperjen
devilish-
where-i-fall