lilianic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

when i like myself

There are times when I look in the mirror and am genuinely happy with what I see. I like the way that I look. No, scratch that. I love the way I look. It's not exactly vanity, although at these times I do find myself attractive. No, it's more like I find pleasure in my appearance because I like what my reflection tells me about myself.

On these days, when I look in the mirror, I see a young woman whose attractiveness springs from the smile that plays on her lips and dances in her eyes. The playful secrets that her laugh lines hint at make me want to ask this woman, "What's so funny?" The kindness that shines out from her face lets me know that, whatever the source of her mirth, it's not me, or if it is, it isn't anything spiteful.

Most of all, when I see myself looking this way, I glimpse a person who I'd like to get to know. I see someone whose face makes me think of happy things. Not the "butterflies/puppies/sunflowers" type of happiness, but that of the "purpose/fulfillment/achievement" genre. I often feel as though I'm a boat that's been blown off course and simply sits, unable to right itself, but on days like this, I feel as though I am both the boat and the wind that's behind it, the one that will put it back on course.

12:37 - 2003-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

piecesofher
petris-girl
penmaster
melwadel
leslieirene
epiphany
amberfalls
burkenstocks
paradigms
kilgoretrout
prowlingleo
elaineslife
tornlace
peeperjen
devilish-
where-i-fall